The establishment of Shri Shiv Chhatrapati College in 1970 was a great landmark in the history of Higher Education in Western Pune District of Maharashtra. The college is affiliated to Savitribai Phule Pune University ( Formerly University of Pune ). Firstly, Arts and Commerce Degree Courses were run by this college. In the year 1984 Science faculty was introduced and Post Graduate courses introduced such as Marathi, Political Science, English and in Commerce and science were introduced after 1989.

In the year 1977 the college started working in the Building of Junnar Education society and college own building was constructed in the year 1977. From June 1977 the college started working it’s own Building.

Mission Statement

  • To uplift the downtrodden, backward, tribal and weaker sections of Junnar block through higher education.
  • To empower the illiterate, ignorant, uneducated masses by educating them and by creating in them the social, political and cultural awareness.
  • To give them confidence that they are the creators and not the creatures of their fate.
  • To make them think that knowledge alone can help them in creating their future.
By management : Affiliated College
By funding : Grant-in-aid
By Gender : Co-education
Date of establishment of the college : 1st June 1970
University to which the college is affiliated to : Pune University

Date of UGC recognition

Sr.No Under Section Date, Month & Year (dd-mm-yyyy) 1 2 (f) 1 June 1970 2 12 (B) 17 June 1972 Campus area in acres :10Acres. List of the departments in the college Faculty of Arts Department 1. English 2. Marathi 3. Hindi 4. Psychology 5. Geography 6. Economics 7. Politics. 8 History 9 Education. Faculty of Commerce Department Commerce (Special Subject for S.Y. and T.Y.) 1. Cost and Works Account. 2.Banking and Finance 3. Marketing Management Compulsory Subject for S.Y T.Y. 1. Business Communication 1. Business Regulatory Frame work 2. Business Management 2. International Economics 3. Business Economics 3. Business Taxation and Auditing 4. Corporate Accounting 4. Advanced Accounting. 5. Corporate Law. Faculty of Science Department 1. Chemistry 2. Physics 3. Botany 4. Zoology 5. Mathematics. DEVELOPMENTAL MILESTONES Sr. No. Year Of Establishment Name 1 1970 Department of Marathi, Department of English, Department of Hindi, Department of Psychology, Department of Geography, Department of Economics,Department of Politics, Department of Education, Department of Commerce 2 1977 College Main Building 3 1984 Department of Chemistry, Department of Physics, Department of Botany, Department of Zoology, Department of Mathematics 4 1985 Department of History 5 1987 Science Building 6 1988 Shivsahuli Boy’s Hostel 7 1994 Central Library Building 8 2001 Ladies Hall 9 2002 Gymkhana, Guest House, College New Building,Staff Room 10 2005 Jijau Ladies Hostel, Computer Lab 11 2006 Commerce Research Centre 12 2007 Zoology Research Centre 13 2008 Commerce Computer Lab.